La Garangeoire reviews

Reviews

Add new review
Louise  avatar
Louise
Review rating: Visited on 30 August 2008 Added on 22 September 2008

Excellent facilities for younger kids (older teenagers limited), very clean facilities, pitches spacious, staff extremely friendly and helpful, excellent cycling tracks around site, in summary our best visit to France so far!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Anon  avatar
Anon
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2008 Added on 31 August 2008

We're just getting ready to go to La Garangeoire for the 3rd time! I went for the first time age 10, then age 14 and now I'm nearly 18 and we're off again! I love the site- my little sister learnt to ride her bike here. We took part last time in a raft race across the lake and won tickets to a local zoo- which was great fun. I've been with both my mum and dad (when married), just my dad (after they divorced), and now despite all the memories, my mum is taking us back again- I think that says a lot for the site. It's a perfect distance from the beach, the supermarkets and Puy du Fou is truly an amazing day out! I'm very excited to jump in the pool and take a canoe out on the lake!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Keith Bryce avatar
Keith Bryce
Review rating: Visited on 01 July 2008 Added on 27 July 2008

Probably the most tranquil site we have stayed on. Hidden in the oak wood our chalet was sheltered from the hubbub at the centre of the resort. Excellent restaurant for the adults, a French flavour to the take away too. Free kids crèche while you get to have quality time with your other half at the restaurant or the new self serve buffet. Can't praise the management enough when our son had to get an emergency dental appointment. Good organised activities for the kids. V kid friendly. Spotless chalet. Would say that the pool although great with its slide, struggled to cope with numbers on hot days.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
S Mullins avatar
S Mullins
Review rating: Visited on 01 July 2007 Added on 25 June 2008

Just getting ready to return to La Garangeoire for the fourth time. Obviously we have always enjoyed our visits and already our 3 children are talking about returning in 2009. Great facilities, always clean, fantastic atmosphere and the new "madame" just like her mother, is a lovely lady, always ready to chat and ask how you are getting on.

Pool can be a little crowded, and sunbeds at a premium, this could be helped by the lifeguard removing towels from "pre-booked beds". Lovely restaurant. The take away, though sometimes busy, offers a nice change from BBQ's occasionally. Staff always friendly and helpful. Ping Pong tables can be really busy, so maybe a few more of those would be nice.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Jayne Evans avatar
Jayne Evans
Review rating: Visited on 30 May 2008 Added on 12 June 2008

Just back from a fantastic week here! Our 7 year old actually learned to ride a bike, at long last, due mainly to the huge number of friends he had made and wanting to keep up with them. The Eurocamp tent we stayed in looked a little jaded and must be due for replacement but did the job and the site was fantastic, lots to do, tennis, swimming, horseriding, childrens play area, fantastic fun club (even in May)10-12.30 and then again 3.30-6pm, ping pong, delightful restaurant where you can leave your little ones in the care of fun club while you eat (6-9pm), small shop, take away, lake with pedalo and rowing boat, nature walks, bike hire, it was peaceful and we all really enjoyed it, just about to book to go back there next May and are taking friends too! Very, very hard working owners, always visible and very helpful. We were impressed - and that's not easy to do!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Grahame  avatar
Grahame
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2007 Added on 19 May 2008

This is a fantastic site. Stayed here three times in season and out of season. Our girls love it. Staff good. Facilities good. Loads to do onsite. Good beaches, fishing villages, lakes, and Les Sables resort etc close by. This is a good standard CASTELS member site; more like a big park than a campsite. Many coastal sites have no room for kids to move and you do not feel safe, but this is certainly not the case here. BUT AS THE SITE GROWS THE FACILITIES WILL NEED TO GROW ESPECIALLY THE POOL and SUNBEDS. Also just to say we have stayed at 6 CASTELS member sites, some twice, all excellent and we have 2 new ones booked for this year 2008. La Garangeoire is certainly one we would visit again.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
David Hunter avatar
David Hunter
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2007 Added on 17 January 2008

We booked our holidays at La Garangeoire with EuroParcs and had a fantastic time in both 2006 and 2007. EuroParcs provided excellent customer service from the booking stage right through to following up what we thought of the holiday upon our return. The site is extremely well managed and the staff at Reception very helpful indeed. Our mobile home was immaculate and the decking and gas bbq were a real bonus. Our children are 5 and 9 and thoroughly enjoyed all the facilities the site had to offer particularly the swimming pool with slides and the horseriding. I can understand why families go back year after year as you feel very welcome and our children loved cycling around with the new friends they made. I would have no hesitation in going back again but as it gets booked up early I will have to get a move on!!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Seun Abayomi avatar
Seun Abayomi
Review rating: Visited on 22 August 2007 Added on 14 September 2007

Just returned from La Garangeoire and really can only echo the sentimets previously mentioned. I stayed with my wife and children, aged 12 and 8.

A few things to note. You have to take a car. We didn't which did not inhibit us too much but it makes visiting other areas so much easier, and cheaper.

Fantastically clean and pleasant campsite. Very helpful staff and nearly stress-free!!

The restaurant is nice and reasonably priced even though it has the monopoly of your attention. The shop is also well stocked and the take away facility offers some decent food.

The rules are strictly adhered to and the staff take no nonsense, especially from the 16 to 18 year olds should they step out of line.

Go for one of the many walks which take you round the beautiful French countryside and appreciate the beautiful views.

Dowsides!! There always are one or two.

It was cold and wet this year, which I am told was very unusual. Take a few bits with you just in case as it takes away the enjoyment somewhat if you like heat that is.

The lighting at night is not great around the campsite so bring a torch.

Micro-waved Hamburgers are not RIGHT so barbecue your own!!

Finally, if you do want to travel about and not in a car. There was a deal where for 35 EUROS you could go anywhere in France for 2 days for a family of 4.

Before you go, check it ALL OUT but well worth trying and I hope you get better weather than we had!!!!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Davenport  avatar
Davenport
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2007 Added on 03 September 2007

Our second year at the site staying with Eurocamp. Already booked next years! Fantastic site where children will find plenty to do and you feel happy in the knowledge that they are safe. The site is well kept and all facilities are beautifully clean. Great sized pitches. Highly recommended site. Can't wait for 2008!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Anon  avatar
Anon
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2005 Added on 28 July 2007

This will be 5 years that my family and I have been to the Garangeoire! This campsite is quite simply great! The fact that there are 90% foreigners ensures an agreeable change of scenery. The people are very friendly, and so are the staff. The surroundings are very pretty, and the campsite is quite simply magnificent! Just going to La Garangeoire will ensure you have a super stay! I recommend it to all who are looking for relaxing holidays! I'm going tomorrow for two weeks!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Kerry Mitchell avatar
Kerry Mitchell
Review rating: Visited on 12 July 2007 Added on 28 July 2007

This was our fist visit to this campsite and I cannot stress enough how wonderful the site was. The cleanliness of the facilities was second to none, so much so that we used the site facilities rather than our own mobile home accommodation. We stayed with Keycamp, but we are returning with our own tourer next year as the pitches were very large and in a nice location. The pool is even heated and the kiddies area of the pool is the best I have seen. Only down side was that the terraces surrounding the pool were not adequate (but it was high season!) Lots to see and do around the site and the local area (the roads and signage in the Vendée are fantastic - we never got lost. May I add that the site's own staff made us feel like we were part of the family (utterly commendable!!

Planning to meet up with other families we met next year (who are returning for their 4th years)

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Fiona Kinder avatar
Fiona Kinder
Review rating: Visited on 04 August 2006 Added on 25 August 2006

My husband and 2 children, aged 9 and 11 visited this site in August 06. We were in our own caravan and allocated a lovely pitch with an open field for playing on in front of us. The loo's and wash facilities were very clean (and I'm v. fussy). The pool was great for the children, who enjoyed the slides and once a week late night swim session. The lifeguards were very watchful and sent my little boy out of the pool for 5 mins for doing something wrong on the slides (we couldn't figure out what, but I like discipline!) There was various entertainment available if you wanted it for all the family. I felt it was run with lovely French relaxed charm and not crowded to overload as sites can tend to be in the height of season. This was recommended to us and I pass that sentiment on completely and will be visiting it again.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Penny Turton avatar
Penny Turton
Review rating: Visited on 20 May 2005 Added on 28 November 2005

We love the Garangeoire. Clean and peaceful: a haven in a busy area. My daughter loves the horse riding we have camped and stayed in their own mobiles. Pitches are huge, the site facilities are immaculate and the staff helpful. Visit the bakery in St Julien for bread it is marvelous.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Sian  avatar
Sian
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2005 Added on 23 October 2005

Fantastic owner and staff, great for riding bikes, lovely large mobile home pitches (their own not Keycamp or Eurocamp, cant speak for them) with hedge so not on top of neighbours. Lovely lake and lots to do. Free kids club in the morning part of the week. Just slightly big for us personally as my 3 year old would keep trying to run and explore and couldn't keep track of him!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Denise Sands avatar
Denise Sands
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2004 Added on 28 August 2005

We have visited this site for many years as a family and more recently just my husband and I. The staff have always been very friendly and the site clean. The facilities can be stretched, but no rush when you are on holiday. Our only complaint is the bottle banks. We intend to visit again this year.

We have seen many changes over the years and they have all been good.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Lucy Rhodes avatar
Lucy Rhodes
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2004 Added on 13 January 2005

My family and I have visited this site every summer fro 19 years and we will be back next year. Truly this place is fantastic and I would recommend it to absolutely anyone. None of the reviews here do the place justice and neither do the pictures. This year the site celebrated its 40th anniversary, we remember the 25th when the old Vicomte (the owner) was still alive. The site is based around a gorgeous chateau and its outbuildings host many of the facilities although new ones have recently been added including a brand new pool complex. The lake and the forests are stunning. I never fail to be blown away by this place! The guy who found a dead rat on his pitch should remember he is on a camping holiday! The staff are wonderful and incredibly helpful. The entertainment schedule is good (I would recommend the horse riding and the tennis lessons) and most of the customers are fantastic. We have many friends whom we see year after year after year. One family stay there for the entire 6 weeks of the school holidays. There is plenty to do in the local area but you are far enough away from the coast to avoid the downsides of touristy areas so common along the coast. I would recommend the quieter beaches, the chateau and lake at Apremont and the Sunday market at Bretignolles. Further afield is the great theme park Puy de Fou. If you haven't made up your mind yet consider it made up, go, you will not regret it!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Gavin Dundon avatar
Gavin Dundon
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2004 Added on 31 August 2004

This summer was our 7th consecutive year camping in France and I can safely say that of the 12 sites we have stayed at over the years this was one of the best.

The pitches were huge, washing facilities very clean, great location and helpful staff.

I can only think of 2 things which could have been better -

  • 1. Campsite shop was small, really small!!

  • 2. The Restaurant was pretty average compared to other Castels restaurants for example Les Ormes in Brittany.

Apart from that I fully recommend this site for families with young and older children.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
John O'sullivan avatar
John O'sullivan
Review rating: Visited on 01 June 2002 Added on 05 February 2003

We are an Irish family who loved this site. We have two boys aged 11 and 14 who had their "best holiday ever" here, with the football camp, the pool complex, fishing and boating, and exploring the huge site with the many friends they made. They made us promise to come back to the site in 2003.

I agree with the reviews above, except the first negative one. It is a site that bustles with child related activity and you will find more tranquil sites, but if you want a site where your children will feel that the hours are passing away too quickly, then this is a great site.

The pitch was large and the facilities were first class. The staff were friendly and helpful.

We took in a day trip to Puy de Fou, which we all really enjoyed. Bring your own picnic and drinks however as the food is expensive.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Richard Robson avatar
Richard Robson
Review rating: Visited on 20 July 2002 Added on 22 July 2002

After booking a static caravan with Europarcs and then reading the report of G Deacon, I too, like Nick Porter, was apprehensive. On arrival, however, my fears were allayed quickly. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, even though we arrived just minutes before the reception's closing time of 8pm. We were also given a survival pack containing soap and toilet tissue etc which I thought was a nice touch.

Generally, I agree with the views of Nick Porter and feel that his account is very accurate and only subject to the qualification that I found the main campsite area bustling with children. Consequently, the tranquil parts of the campsite were limited to the outskirts of the camping areas.

On our visit, most of the clientele were British, as Nick Porter experienced, but with a large contingent of Irish. As a result, I too found that our holiday, whilst on the campsite, was less than the French experience than I had expected. Even the campsite staff were obliged to speak English most of the time.

The campsite is generally well maintained and the on-site restaurant provides a good place to eat when you are too tired to fire-up the barbecue. At the time of writing (19 July 2002), the restaurant's table d'hôte menu provided a delicious three course meal for only €13. Alternatively, try "Le Carib", just 5 minutes drive from the campsite, in La Mothe Achard (€17) for three courses).

In conclusion, whilst I had a very enjoyable holiday, I do think that La Garangeoire is more suited for those with children and/or who speak little or no French.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Chris Mcgrory avatar
Chris Mcgrory
Review rating: Visited on 01 July 2000 Added on 27 January 2002

Only visited the site in the summer of 2000, I'm sure the new pool complex will be a great improvement.

Huge pitches, plenty of privacy and shade, facilities seemed to cope with most eventualities. Would certainly revisit and recommend to others.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Anon  avatar
Anon
Review rating: Visited on 01 January 0001 Added on 10 December 2001

A world apart from the hustle and bustle of the coastal resorts, La Garangeoire lies on the stones of an ancient Gallo-Roman temple...

Welcome to the GARANGEOIRE...

Set in a magnificient estate of over 200 hectares, you will not fail to appreciate the calmness and sense of tranquility that is provided by the charming surrounds of picturesque woodlands, of age old oak trees, of lakes abounding in fish and of the nearby river and many footpaths...

Open between the 15th May and the 15th September, LA GARANGEOIRE is the perfect holiday base to explore the best of Vendée, the wonderful countryside, the beautiful beaches (only 10 miles away) and the sunshine "Côte de Lumière" with its particularly sunny microclimate.

-Wide range of sporting activities : golf, tennis, heated swimming-pools, horse riding, walking, archery, football, rugby and many more !

-Two folk evenings beside the lake and many other events throughout the season.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Irish Family avatar
Irish Family
Review rating: Visited on 01 June 2001 Added on 01 January 0001

An excellent site with plenty to do on the site and nearby. In the past year the site has been well refurbished with a brilliant pool complex and bar/restaurant area. The towns of La Roche Sur Yon and St Nazaire are well worth a visit. Every child and adult will enjoy this site.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Lisa Fyfe avatar
Lisa Fyfe
Review rating: Visited on 22 August 2009 Added on 01 January 0001

Just had 2 weeks holiday at La Garangeoire - Had a brilliant time. Lovely weather, Great spacious pitch and a lovely campsite. Loads to do and lots of activities, but far enough away from our caravan so very peaceful there. Lovely heated pool (busy on hot days). Kind and helpful staff and great kids club leaders. Very family friendly. Our 12 year old loved the holiday so much, we have booked for next year. We can't wait to go back!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Jon  avatar
Jon
Review rating: Visited on 17 July 2010 Added on 01 January 0001

Just returned from our second year at La Garangeoire, as usual it was a joy from start to finish. The facilities have now been improved with the addition of a covered swimming pool with lane swimming only until 1pm and a second babies pool. There is also a new sun lounging area with additional chairs etc. which should go some way to reducing the congestion around the pool area, that said it would help if the 'no reserving' rule was actually enforced!!

The washing and showering facilities are sufficient and clean, although the clothes washing facilities can be congested, and at 5 euro a load the clothes washing and drying machines are a bit over priced.

Evening entertainment was very pleasant with a real effort made to present some traditional vendeen music and dancing. Day time activities are varied and interesting, although some require booking in advance and attract a fee, but this is never unreasonable.

The staff are very helpful, cheery and well mannered, from the reception staff you meet when arriving to Bruno who works in the cycle hire shop and takes the various biking activities.

This place is very hard to beat, which is why it attracts so much loyal and repeated custom.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Janet  avatar
Janet
Review rating: Visited on 01 August 2011 Added on 01 January 0001

A large, well equipped and well-run campsite in beautiful countryside.

Loads of activities / entertainment and sporting oportunities.

Two bars - one large and near the swimming pool complex - one smaller with sky TV for sports and near reception.

Many new and improved facilities this year - additional pools- fitness equipment in open air - sun bathing area

We travelled with a group of all ages from baby to 20+ couple and grandparents. Everyone enjoyed this site .

Pitches large / sanitary blocks lovely.

Only possible word of advice would be to ask for a pitch which isn't totally under the trees unless of course you like total shade.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Matthew Stancliffe avatar
Matthew Stancliffe
Review rating: Visited on 23 July 2011 Added on 01 January 0001

Just returned from La Garangeoire with my family for the 5th consecutive year. Great time had by all. I first visited the site in 1980 with my parents who still visit with us every year along with my brother and his family. Relaxing holiday, fabulous beaches nearby. Staff are well trained and courteous. Mixed weather this year which allowed us to explore the region more. My brother had a cycling accident this year and the police were contacted. Eric the owner acted as a great translator for us to ensure correct procedure was followed. Eric the tennis coach was there again this year and organised some great tournaments which allows you to get to know other visitors to the site. Great entertainment, restaurant food very good. Already booked again for next year.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Claim this campsite