Rivendale Touring Caravan & Leisure reviews

Reviews

Add new review
Tim B avatar
Tim B
Review rating: Visited on 01 June 2008 Added on 16 June 2008

What a shame this beautiful location is spoiled by the owners of the Rivendale camp site. On our stay, they were erratic to say the least. Despite a warm welcome at Reception, we were later threatened with physical violence, in front of several witnesses. This was denied just a few minutes later, to the incredulity of the witnesses. The owners also stated that several of our party would have to leave the camp site early, then changed their minds the next day. This level of customer service would leave Basil Fawlty blushing.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Sheila & John Ward avatar
Sheila & John Ward
Review rating: Visited on 02 June 2008 Added on 05 June 2008

Have just returned from a 3 night stay on the overspill field which was right next to the busy main road. Only pitch available to us on arrival Friday was overgrown & bumpy. Good views from parts of the field. Site full on arrival but empty by the time we left on Monday. Portakabin showers & toilets basic but clean. Didn't find staff too helpful when we asked for areas to walk dogs - brochure said there were several wooded areas on or near the site but were only told of one small area which we couldn't find. Didn't use the bar as we arrived too late. We would use this site again but make sure we had a pitch on the main site which seemed to be a lot quieter. Lovely location and handy for touring around.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Anon  avatar
Anon
Review rating: Visited on 01 July 2007 Added on 30 August 2007

We have just had a lovely weeks stay camping on the 'overspill site'. The site was lovely, clean and welcoming. Close to many beautiful towns and villages in particular our children mostly enjoyed 'Heights Of Abraham' and 'Alton Towers' which is only around 30 minutes away. Luckily we had read reviews before coming to Rivendale camp site, and packed our swimsuits to shower in to cover our modesty. It seems such a shame that campers from the quarry side of the camp who had heated facilities still needed to use our basic facilities which we only had 2 showers, 3 toilets and 2 basins in each of the mens and womens porta-cabins, but we could not use their facilities as you needed a key. Would most definitely come again.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Nathalie Smart avatar
Nathalie Smart
Review rating: Visited on 24 July 2005 Added on 27 July 2005

I stayed here with a group of friends and despite booking and paying 3 months before going we were placed in the overspill field without warning. Before arrival we were sent a receipt with a note to arrive before 7pm in order to get shower block key - fine. On arrival we were given a slip saying we must not use the main showers block if we do so we will be ordered off the site. So we had to use the small block on the overspill field.

I say small block I mean a portakabin, with a door without a lock and 2 showers with curtains - I will leave it to your imagination what happens when someone innocently opens the door on a windy day!! These were not heated as advertised and the water pressure was non-existent and lukewarm even on the highest setting.

The toilets were just as bad 3 toilets for whole site with 1 wash basin, no paper towels or anywhere to dry hands.

Outside these toilet blocks was a hole in the ground about 10metres by 5 metres with a kind of fence around it but no lighting to warn you in the night.

The overspill park is next to the road so it was lovely at 6pm to be woken by lorry drivers beeping their horns as they passed, I'm not sure why they do it but we saw one laughing as they passed!!!! I'm sure it would be funny if you were in the lorry!!!

What I ask is what have the owners done to the locals to make them act like this? If they treat the locals like the campers I understand.

I can certainly say I will not be going back there!!!! In total we paid £97.00 for 2 nights and it certainly wasn't worth this


Response from the site management:

Nathalie Smart's description is totally inaccurate and libellous. Facts:-

Bookings are made by payment 28 days prior to arrival.

Every pitch has a unique computer address, which is allocated at the time of booking. The cost of a pitch in the pitching area is greater than that in the field to reflect the better facilities. The computer booking system does not allow a switch between the areas-because they are different prices. N Smart (rightly or wrongly) was booked onto the "overspill field" from the outset.

The camping field is 10 acres of wild-flower meadow where campers are free to choose their spot; Ms Smart (for reasons we cannot fathom) chose to pitch next to the main road.

The showers were at mains pressure, being of the instantaneous electrical type unaffected by the volume of use. There are 6 toilets, 6 basins and 2 showers available for the Ladies in the overspill field - the men have their own facilities. The basic cost of one night for 2 people on the meadow is £9.50; unless there were dozens of people in the tent the figure given is pure fantasy.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Anon  avatar
Anon
Review rating: Visited on 22 May 2004 Added on 02 June 2004

We first visited the site in 2001 and having returned again we found it had matured, but was still quiet and peaceful despite being fully booked, the facilities were very clean and staff friendly. It is an excellent place to walk from.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Mole  avatar
Mole
Review rating: Visited on 01 October 2002 Added on 25 July 2003

Yup, must agree that the bar is very friendly and the beer is very good. Will admit that the shop is not so well stocked, but it had whatever we needed and at a not too bad price, and Matlock is only 15 mins drive away. I found that the toilet facilities were very good and very clean, and you can have more than one key. I think the reason they do this is to stop non-customers from using the facilities. They do keep the numbers down, so it never feels overcrowded. We all loved the campsite, and are now going back again for a third time.

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Tania Bagnall avatar
Tania Bagnall
Review rating: Visited on 05 June 2003 Added on 02 July 2003

We were impressed. Fabulous under-floor heated loos, excellent bar with a very friendly manager, a wide range of different pitch surfaces, sunny sheltered pitching area - and the best wild flower display we have ever seen. True the shop is limited. The key deposit can be a pain if you want to leave before 9 a.m. - we were told the system is to keep out people from off site who camp on the opposite side of the road when the 4wd is on. We found it busy at weekends but have been told it is very quiet mid-week. Your reviewer was obviously out of sorts!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Adrian  avatar
Adrian
Review rating: Visited on 31 August 2009 Added on 01 January 0001

Just returned from a few nights at this campsite and really can't see what all the negativity was about.

We had a great time camping and had lovely large pitches. The toilet block was well equipped and very clean. We visited over August Bank Holiday and there were showers available each time I visited the toilets.

The only downside was the weather which we really couldn't blame the campsite about!

Thumb Up Agree Thumb Down Don't agree
Claim this campsite